Trump Administration Implements New Travel Ban


On September 24, 2017, the Trump Administration announced an expansion of its previous travel ban, adding several countries to the list designated in the original travel ban (Executive Order 13780).

Travelers from Somalia, Yemen, Syria, Libya and Iran, countries that were included in the original ban, will remain on the designated list. North Korea, Chad and Venezuela have been added to the list of countries. Sudan has been dropped from the administration's list of nations and citizens from Iraq will be subjected to "additional scrutiny" but will not face any blanket bans.

Beginning October 18, 2017, the newest version of the ban will suspend the entry of immigrants (those applying to come to the U.S. permanently) and non-immigrants (those applying to come as temporary visitors/workers) from the designated countries as follows:

  • Citizens of Chad, Libya, and Yemen: All immigrants; non-immigrants traveling on B-1 and B-2 visitor visas.
  • Citizens of Iran: All immigrants and non-immigrants, with an exception for Iranian students (F, J, M visas), provided they receive extra screening.
  • Citizens of North Korea and Syria:  All immigrants and non-immigrants.
  • Citizens of Somalia: All immigrants; non-immigrant visa applicants will be subject to additional security checks.
  • Citizens of Venezuela: The ban only applies to a specific group of government officials and their families traveling on B-1/B-2 nonimmigrant visitor visas. Also all Venezuelan citizens seeking immigrant and non-immigrant visas will be subject to additional security checks.

Unlike the previous version of the travel ban, this latest version of the ban does not have a time limitation. The ban does not apply to nationals of these countries who:

  • Are U.S. lawful permanent residents (aka "green card holders");
  • Are admitted to or paroled into the U.S. on or after the effective date;
  • Have a document other than a visa -- such as a transportation letter, an appropriate boarding foil, or an advance parole document -- valid on the applicable effective date or issued on any date thereafter, that permits him or her to travel to the U.S. and seek entry or admission;
  • Are dual nationals of a non-designated country (i.e. not on the ban list), when the individual is traveling on a passport issued by that non-designated country;
  • Are traveling on a diplomatic or diplomatic-type visa (such as C-2, G-1, G-2, G-3, G-4); or
  • Have been granted asylum by the U.S. or who are refugees already been admitted to the U.S or any individual who has been granted withholding of removal, advance parole, or protection under the Convention Against Torture.
We urge any company representative or foreign national seeking guidance on these matters to immediately contact an MVA team member.


Jump to Page

By using this site, you agree to our updated Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use.